Feel Good Foods Gluten Free Chicken Dumplings

IMG_0804

If you’re ever wondering what I eat for lunch everyday, probably three days out of the week it’s these dumplings (the other four is most often some form of pasta dish). These things are sooo good, and if you’ve ever tried to find a restaurant that offers gluten free dumplings, you know that it’s almost impossible. Since I’ve been gluten free, this is the only way I’ve been able to get my fill of delicious little dumplings, and I am not complaining. They are so easy to make, and I also added a little step to make them even better!

IMG_0789

There was actually quite a long time that I stopped eating these dumplings. A few months ago, they redesigned the dumplings. When I bought this new version of them and cooked them in the pan as usual, they all got stuck to the pan and fell apart into a pile of mush. From that point on I stopped buying them. However, about a month or two ago I decided to give them another chance. I took extra precautions to make sure they wouldn’t stick to the pan (which means I sprayed that whole pan with a nice thick layer of canola oil before adding the water), and they turned out perfect! Which ended up making me upset that I went so long depriving myself of perfectly good dumplings for one little mushy fiasco. So now I happily enjoy my yummy little pockets of chicken and joy all the time!

So let me get into how they’re made. I start by coating my pan in canola oil first, for reasons I have already mentioned, then add 1/2 cup of water (I usually do a tiny bit more because 1/2 cup doesn’t quite cover my whole pan) and a tablespoon of canola oil to a large nonstick pan and let it heat up. Then add your dumplings and put the lid on the pan. Each box has 9-11 dumplings (could they not settle on a single number??), but I have gotten boxes with 12 (I call them lucky boxes). I cook mine for 10 minutes, and that is technically when the box says you should be done, but I like to do a little more.

IMG_0799

So, the box claims that after sitting in this pan, the liquid will evaporate and the bottom of the dumplings will get brown. This has never happened. So after the 10 minutes, I take the dumplings out and empty the liquid out of the pan. Then I put the pan back on the stove and add some sesame oil to start heating up. Then I put the dumplings back in the pan, and fry them in the sesame oil until they are brown and beautiful. Trust me, this makes them so much better than they would be if you just ate them after the 10 minutes.

IMG_0802

So once your dumplings are browned to your liking, you can plate ’em up and enjoy! Oh, I almost forgot the dipping sauce! Inside the box is a little packet of sauce that you can leave out to thaw while the dumplings are cooking. Now, I love soy sauce, so I add a bunch of it to the sauce that comes in the packet, just because that’s my personal preference. So once you have your sauce and your dumplings all ready, then you can enjoy. And you don’t have to eat them for lunch like I do; you can have them as a side for dinner if you’re having an Asian dish, or as little appetizers at a party. No matter how you eat them, they will be delicious!

IMG_0810

10 thoughts on “Feel Good Foods Gluten Free Chicken Dumplings

  1. Where can I find these? They sound amazing and when everyone else wants to order chinese I can add these to my usual steamed chicken and broccoli order to make the meal more special.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. They look great when they’re all cooked and nicely browned I noticed that you used the Teflon frying pan for them. If you were to use a ceramic frying pan, would they still get as brown?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve never used a ceramic pan to brown them, so I’m not really sure. The main concern with these dumplings is that they don’t stick, so you should use your best nonstick pan, which for me in the Teflon.

      Like

    • That’s good to know! I always thought about making my own dumplings, but then I found these frozen, already prepared ones and they were so good I forgot about it. I will definitely give it a try though. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Chebe Cinnamon Rolls and Breadstick Mix | Gluten Free Deliciously

What do you think?

