Conte’s Pasta Products (+Recipe!)

Merry Christmas!

Hope everyone is having a wonderful Christmas (although with the 60° weather it sure doesn’t feel like Christmas). So I’m going to jump right in; let me tell you about Conte’s Pasta products! These frozen pasta products are pretty unique—they’re the only brand that I’ve seen that offer gluten free gnocchi and pierogies (or is it pierogi??). Along with these they also carry both spinach and cheese and plain cheese ravioli, as well as cheese stuffed shells, which I haven’t tried yet.

IMG_0390

I love all of these products! One of my favorites is the pierogies. They have potato and onion as well as potato, cheese, and onion. I also do a little something different with these than it says on the package. The instructions only say to cook them by boiling them, but when I make them I add an extra step. I like to crisp them up in a pan with some canola oil, because the little bit of crunchiness makes them 10x better! I finish them off by making a little sour cream dipping sauce with sour cream, green onions, and some garlic and seasonings. Both kinds of ravioli are also delicious, with whatever sauce you like on it (I usually use either marinara or alfredo sauce).

The gnocchi was a rather new discovery for me. I’d never had it before but I really wanted to try it. When I found the Conte’s gnocchi at Wegman’s I was ridiculously excited. When I made it, I thought it would be pretty lame to just throw some regular old sauce on it; I had to make it fancy. So I looked up a recipe, and here is what I found: Gnocchi in Parmesan Garlic Sauce. Doesn’t everything about that sound delicious?? Obviously you can put whatever sauce you like on it (some pesto, a plain butter sauce, etc), but this sauce is fantastic.

So here you go, a recipe within my review!

What you’ll need:

  • 1 pound gnocchi or other pasta/1 package Conte’s Gnocchi
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, grated
  • 1 cup grated parmesan (now this seemed like a lot to me, so I just put in what I thought looked like enough, which was at least half this amount)
  • 1/4 cup cooking liquid, aka the water you cooked your pasta in
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Parsley for topping (optional)

Making the dish:

  1. Cook gnocchi according to the package instructions (and don’t forget to reserve your 1/4 cup of cooking liquid!)
  2. In a saucepan, melt your butter over medium high heat. When the pan is hot, add your garlic and sauté for 1 minute, and be sure to stir it constantly
  3. After your gnocchi is cooked and drained, add it to the pan with the parmesan and cooking liquid. Stir until it’s creamy
  4. Reduce the heat to a low simmer and allow the liquid to reduce for about 3-4 minutes. Season with salt and pepper

And you’re done! Top with the parsley to make it all pretty and enjoy!

Gnocchi with Parmesan Garlic Sauce

 

2 thoughts on “Conte’s Pasta Products (+Recipe!)

What do you think?

